The Accident

It was around 12 noon of Monday and I was busy in office. My phone ringed, it was call from Anshu. She was crying and anxious. “Just come back home as soon as possible, bleeding is not stopping!!!” she almost shouted on phone and phone gets disconnected, I heard that Ishu was crying on the background during the call. I just rose like a spring from my chair and took my bag; I am not sure what I said to my colleague and started walking towards the door. I was very concerned and was sure something terrible has happened at home.  Felt that every stop of lift from level 5 to level 1 was taking a year, luckily got a cab just outside of campus. “It will at least take another 30-40 minutes to reach home”, I thought in my mind. Tried to make another call to Anshu and suggested to call her friends staying nearby, but she was still restless. I recalled that I have seen Rajeev online just before leaving desk, thought of give a try if he is at home (Rajeev is staying near to my place), luckily he was at home, I requested he can reach my place as see what went wrong and he immediately started, another lucky that there was no congestion at CTE due to non peak-hour.

During my way back I discussed with Rajeev to meet them at a clinic nearby, when I reached there, saw Rajeev as holding Ishu. Her right foot was covered with powder and various blood patches on her legs, there was no bleeding. Clinic staff was very courtesies and they immediately took us to Doctor. The doctor examined the wound but couldn’t see due to the powder all around it. He recommended us to go to K. K. or Polyclinic for further investigations and treatment.

During this time I manage to ask Anshu that how this happened and came to know that glass table was broken into 2 and sharp edge fell on Ishu’s right feet toe. Doctor at polyclinic mentioned that they are not sure if there is any glass piece in the wound or whether bone or tendons are also damaged, so referred us to K. K Women and Children hospital. Ishu was very stable, awake and chattering by this time, that make us little comfortable.

I dropped Anshu and Ishu back home and went straight to Aashi’s school, she was still in school and Rajeev was there to comfort her.

Saw the broken table first time and glass scattered around it posting few photographs taken from mobile.

Broken table 1
Broken table 1
Broken table 2
Broken table 2

We had little break and then started to KK.

X-Ray, fasting, anesthesia, examination and stitching were the processes she underwent. Luckily neither bones nor tandem were damage and there were no glass pieces inside.

Thanks to Rajeev, as he always did it before, came forward again to help for one more time. Many other friends also called to ask if we need any help. This was another learning lesson of life; never keep any glass souvenirs when you have young and very active kids.

God bless!!!

2 thoughts on “The Accident

  1. OMG…I hope she is fine now…I also do have a Glass Table…I will take care of the…May GOD bless our kids….Take good care of her…

Leave a Reply

