Raksha Bhandan

Today is Raksha Bhandan (Rakhi in short) and without any exception, received Rakhi from Gudiya 2 days before. As soon as she became aware of importance of this festival, she is tiding Rakhi or sending via mail without fail.

For those who don’t know about this festival let me brief, it’s a yearly festival of brothers and sisters, where sisters ties a small thread of cotton or silk (known as Rakhi) to the right wrist of brothers and feed brothers with some sweets, on the other hand brothers takes oath that they will protect her and be with her whenever needed, also brothers has to touch her feet to show respect towards her (whether she is younger or elder) and offer some gift. Just to add it has a very long history, it’s a kind of ancient version of friendship bands 🙂 .

There are few other sisters who could not make it this time, may be because they are not as techie as Gudiya. She being in IT exchanges mails and does chat with me often and remains most updated about me than others, though others called in the morning and given their best wishes. Being far away from them I miss them and often talk about them with Anshu same as they do. I am quite sure and I wish that at least Gudiya continue sending me Rakhi every year.

Actual time to tie the Rakhi was in evening, me being unaware did this in the morning itself, but I guess no one will mind it 🙂

